Is this board slower than cold molasses or is it me?

Talk about anything that doesn't fit in a topic below - Also used for board announcements.
Post Reply
User avatar
n9gik
Site Supporter
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 12:41 am
Location: SE IL

Is this board slower than cold molasses or is it me?

Post by n9gik » Tue Jun 14, 2005 12:33 am

I have a fairly fast connection. Several times faster than dialup. But accessing ANYTHING on this board is painfully slow. I may set for a mintue or more waiting for it to load. Anyplace else I go it's no problem.

I've tried IE, Firefox, and Opera 8. None seem to make a difference. I click on a page, go get a can of pop, drink it, come back, and the thing still has not loaded.

This evening it is taking close to a minute to open any page.

Alex
Site Administrator
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 8:00 pm

Re: Is this board slower than cold molasses or is it me?

Post by Alex » Tue Jun 14, 2005 9:55 am

n9gik wrote:I have a fairly fast connection. Several times faster than dialup. But accessing ANYTHING on this board is painfully slow. I may set for a mintue or more waiting for it to load. Anyplace else I go it's no problem.

I've tried IE, Firefox, and Opera 8. None seem to make a difference. I click on a page, go get a can of pop, drink it, come back, and the thing still has not loaded.

This evening it is taking close to a minute to open any page.
Your the only one I've ever heard complain about the speed in the 2-3 years that i've had this board up and running. I would tend to shy away from it being a problem on my server's end.

-Alex

jim202
Posts: 120
Joined: Sat Mar 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: New Orleans region

Re: Is this board slower than cold molasses or is it me?

Post by jim202 » Wed Jun 15, 2005 9:40 am

I too have always found this site very slow. I may point the finger at my ISP as part of the problem. I have noticed that several sites, including this one and the apco international site are very slow from the house. If I try them from work, it's much better. The house connection is a DSL that works good for most sites.

So it maybe how the ISP has their network set up. Sites like Yahoo and others load fast.

Jim

Alex
Site Administrator
Posts: 178
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2002 8:00 pm

Post by Alex » Sat Oct 22, 2005 10:50 am

This should really no longer be a problem - as it's now sitting on a 20mbit pipe.

-Alex

User avatar
n9gik
Site Supporter
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 12:41 am
Location: SE IL

Since I changed ISP's it is much better

Post by n9gik » Mon Oct 24, 2005 7:23 am

Since I posted the original question back in June I have changed ISP's and the problem went away. For some reason it had a problem with this particular site.
I don't know much about 2-way radios but I'm over 50 and can't remember not having one around. Everything from Buddy and Citi-fone to Icom and Kenwood.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest