Who knows anything about computers here?

Talk about anything that doesn't fit in a topic below - Also used for board announcements.
Post Reply
cathrine
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 2:24 pm

Who knows anything about computers here?

Post by cathrine » Thu Apr 20, 2006 2:35 am

The kind of level of knowledge i'm looking for would be pretty expert knowledge. As some may know, my main computer isn't working at the moment. It doesn't boot up anymore after changing a bios which was downloaded from the net in order to use a new hard drive. I don't think it's any virus thing, but possibly the bios might've corrupted the motherboard somehow. Now, what I'm wondering is whether simply changing the motherboard would result in the computer working again and how easy it would be to change the motherboard myself?

I really don't want to bring it in to be repaired as it has lots of confidential and copyrighted files on the existing hard drive.

Any one able to help? Thanks.

------------------
Meoww! Send in the clowns!
_________________
Check out http://www.yafll.com

helmsc
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 10:29 am

Post by helmsc » Thu Apr 20, 2006 10:33 am

It's not hard at all ... as long as you get a motherboard that fits the case and supports the CPU and RAM that you have. Just take your time and read the manual on how to install the RAM and CPU. The CPU pins are very delicate and I have seen people snap the pins on a brand new P4.

User avatar
ka7wnf
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 1:37 pm
Location: Seattle, Washington

bios

Post by ka7wnf » Thu Apr 20, 2006 4:41 pm

sounds like your bios upgrade failed. you can buy an eeprom with the correct bios in it and just pop it in to your motherboard. but if you had to update bios just to add a drive maybe it's time for a new one. what do you have now?

helmsc
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 10:29 am

Post by helmsc » Thu Apr 20, 2006 4:55 pm

I had not thought of the age issue. You are correct on that. On that note ... a newer motherboard might not fit in the old case without cutting the back of the computer to access the plug-ins (ie. the keyboard and mouse)

User avatar
ka7wnf
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 1:37 pm
Location: Seattle, Washington

bios

Post by ka7wnf » Thu Apr 20, 2006 6:59 pm

unless it's the same form factor. IE size, then it will drop right in. PL

helmsc
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 10:29 am

Post by helmsc » Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:57 am

form factor does not specify where all the plug-ins are. Most boards come with a new back plate that fits their boards (at least now days)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest