Edacs system requirements

Talk about anything that doesn't fit in a topic below - Also used for board announcements.
Post Reply
toothpickboy
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2003 10:22 am
Location: North Central Illinois

Edacs system requirements

Post by toothpickboy » Fri Sep 05, 2003 10:33 am

Hello all:
Yes I am new here but have been a licensed ham operator for 12 years in addition to having years of radio experience in the Military.
I work at an agency that has shifted from VHF to GE EDACS 800 LTR Radio equipment. I am looking for tips on what to purchase or trade for and also in the RSS for programming an Orion or other compatable mobile radio for use at work. South West Chicago area. Any help appreciated very much!
:lol: :lol: :lol:
Brian the toothpickboy

User avatar
rescue161
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Apr 29, 2002 7:51 pm

Post by rescue161 » Thu Sep 11, 2003 6:56 am

Orion's are nice, but if you mess one up, they will give you high blood pressure as well as a dent in your wallet. As long as you back up all of the files in the radio, you should be fine.

Price Industries has the programming cable that you'll need for about $60.00 or so. You do not need a RIB with this cable. I can't remember the web site for them, but if you do a search, you'll find them easily.

Good luck,
Scott

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests