VX-160 question from a new guy

Forum dedicated to discussion on Vertex Commercial Radio products
JHaezter

VX-160 question from a new guy

Post by JHaezter »

I'm new to the Radio world. I programmed the radios so they are able to hit each other, the trouble is, if I get more than a block away, not even honestly more like 100 yards, they're completely useless. Surely these have a further range than this? And it's not even a high traffic zone. Anytime I get around 150 yards away, I can neither transmit nor receive communication. Is this normal for this radio?
silverbk

Re: VX-160 question from a new guy

Post by silverbk »

Double check your codeplug. You must have something askew. My kid's FRS radios work better than that.

You should make sure you have the same frequency and PL tone on both the transmit and receive side of things then load the same plug into both radios.
Radioman_1953

Post by Radioman_1953 »

JHaezter wrote:I'm new to the Radio world. I programmed the radios so they are able to hit each other, the trouble is, if I get more than a block away, not even honestly more like 100 yards, they're completely useless. Surely these have a further range than this? And it's not even a high traffic zone. Anytime I get around 150 yards away, I can neither transmit nor receive communication. Is this normal for this radio?
You might check your power setting, low power is only 1 watt.

Jim
oz_com

Post by oz_com »

If one of your two radios transmits further than the other, it's obviously some kind of problem specific to that radio. Even a radio with blown finals should receive normally, so if neither of the radios transmits further than the other, could that be an antenna problem?