Dropping the power on a UHF VX-3000

Forum dedicated to discussion on Vertex Commercial Radio products
Post Reply
N3CHU
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 11:41 am

Dropping the power on a UHF VX-3000

Post by N3CHU » Tue Sep 28, 2010 12:52 pm

Hi all, would anyone know a cheap and easy way to drop the RF power down to about 1 watt or less on a vertex VX-3000 UHF??. I dont have the service manual or the tuning software. its interfaced with a VX-3000L and dont need for the UHF signal to go very far .. Thanks to all. Davie n-3-c-h-u at atlanticbb dot net

radio259
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:11 pm
Location: Pittsburgh Pa

Re: Dropping the power on a UHF VX-3000

Post by radio259 » Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:45 pm

You need the servcice alignment software. We have found that some, not all, radios will not tx well at low power, sometimes under 3-4 watt, properly.

I would have to check the dealer site moday to see if the software is still available. it was DOS.

Paul B

N3CHU
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 11:41 am

Re: Dropping the power on a UHF VX-3000

Post by N3CHU » Sun Oct 24, 2010 6:15 am

Thanks Paul for your reply, I found the software but may need the little box to make it work and I have one for the FTL series but never used it and dont know if it is the correct one.So any help you are able to give me I would appreciate very much. Am using it for a simplex remote base and need low power. thanks very much. Davie n-3-c-h-u at atlanticbb dot net

radio259
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:11 pm
Location: Pittsburgh Pa

Re: Dropping the power on a UHF VX-3000

Post by radio259 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:57 pm

I do not have the alignment box. Now memory kicked in. Been a while. They did have a alignment box for the early series of radios. We have one, but as of tomorrow, I am off for about 4 weeks for knee surgery. zor as the ameteur club put it: more parts for the scrap pile when i pass on. Hopefully not for a while yet.

never seen one of them box's on eBay, but never really looked.

N3CHU
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 11:41 am

Re: Dropping the power on a UHF VX-3000

Post by N3CHU » Mon Oct 25, 2010 6:55 am

I wish you well and a speedy recovery on your knee surgery Paul. maybe I will try the box that I already have but seems that I tried it long ago and it didnt work. I think if I could find the instructions it might help. thanks again. Davie

N3CHU
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 11:41 am

Re: Dropping the power on a UHF VX-3000

Post by N3CHU » Tue Oct 26, 2010 1:19 pm

Paul, if you read this when you recover I was able to move around in the tuning software and change the power and you are correct about the radio not liking low power. I was able to change the power in the tuning mode I think all I need to know is how to "enter" the settings once I have made the changes and I will have have it. My FRB box has a broken 8 pin plug so was able to get into the software without it. I was able to get 60 watts out of the radio in the tune mode but didnt know how to enter that setting. Thank you for your help. Davie

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest