Kenwood TK-290 Radio found - What now?

If you are just getting into radio, and have a lot of beginner questions, or just want to help someone new out, then this is the place to do it!
jeepin4

Kenwood TK-290 Radio found - What now?

Post by jeepin4 »

Hi everyone. Apart from quite a bit of CB radio experience, I am a definite "newbie" to other radios and frequencies.

I work construction for a living, and found a Kenwood TK-290 radio on the job. I have contacted everone I can think of (including utility companies), but nobody so far has claimed the radio. The battery is dead, so I cant even call anyone on it.

I have been trying to read up on what exactly it does and options it has, and one of my questions is about the password feature. I read that when it is powered off and back on, you need to enter a password to use the radio? Is this true? Is there a way around this? My concern is that I dont want to buy a battery charger for it, if it wont do me any good. Ideas?

From what I read, its an expensive radio, so I would hate to have to toss it. What should I do with it?

Thanks.

Joe
Jeepin4
azFIREguy

Post by azFIREguy »

what do you want for it? as for the password there is no way around it "if it has been enabled into the radio." If you want to see it let me know :D :D
Sex at age 90 is like trying to shoot pool with a rope
VE9MP

Post by VE9MP »

Pfft.........a TK-290? Well, I'll give ya 20 bucks and take off your hands :D
----Nick----

It's more than just a walkie, Mr. Lahey.
d119

Post by d119 »

Don't let these guys fool you. Shame on you people.

The TK-290 is a VHF portable radio that operates between 136-174MHz. It's useful for amateur radio, public safety, or anything else in that VHF frequency spread. You could use it on certain MURS frequencies license-free if you have a radio to match it with.

With a DTMF keypad (0-9, * and # keys on the front), it's worth about $250-300. Without the keypad, it's worth $200-250.