TK-730 TK-830 dual band set-up

If you are just getting into radio, and have a lot of beginner questions, or just want to help someone new out, then this is the place to do it!
Post Reply
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 3:19 pm

TK-730 TK-830 dual band set-up

Post by timc185 » Thu Dec 24, 2009 3:26 pm

I'm new to the group and was wondering if anyone could give me any advice. I have recently bought an used Kenwood TK-730 and a TK-830 (from different places off ebay). I've read that these 2 radios can be link to form a dual band using a single head. The TK-830 came with the remote set-up and the TK-730 is a under the dash mount. I've searched for a KRK-4DB cable/kit and cannot find one. I've been told that the new KRK-7DB kit for TK-790 to 890 setup would work. Was wondering if this was true and if anyone could give me some direction in this case. Thanks in advance and Merry Christmas.


Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 8:49 pm
Location: North Dakota

Re: TK-730 TK-830 dual band set-up

Post by rwo978 » Tue Dec 29, 2009 6:33 pm

The 90 kits will NOT work. Different assemblies and plugs.

Besides the krk-4db, you need the correct eeproms inside the radio (firmware). These are in the form of chips. I can't remember which is for which, but there's a FAA, FAB, FAC, and FAD. One is for standard dash mount or remote mount, one is for dual head, and the other 2 are for dual band (one per radio, #1 and #2). There is also some soldering inside the radios that needs to be completed if I remember correctly.
KC0MOZ (use this e-mail, not other)

User avatar
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 1:37 pm
Location: Seattle, Washington

Re: TK-730 TK-830 dual band set-up

Post by ka7wnf » Wed Dec 30, 2009 12:30 am

I have the instructions for putting it all together if you manage to find the parts. The only part of a x90 series that works is the cable. It's not a perfect match but the electrical connector fits and they are wired the same.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest