HELP: SPX-2550 (SL70)

Forum dedicated to discussion on Maxon Radio products
Post Reply
User avatar
Howard_G7LQY
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:08 am
Location: Portsmouth, South UK

HELP: SPX-2550 (SL70)

Post by Howard_G7LQY » Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:29 am

Hi
I have got one of these radios and i would like to put it on the
2mtr ham band in the uk (144-146Mhz).

The model no of this radio is SPX-2550 NH
Programmer says it is 136 - 174 Mhz

When i try to prog 144.83750 rx & tx, it seems to go in ok, but when
i turn radio back on after programming it, all i get is a "beep beep" and
no rx or tx. :(
Any help welcome

TIA
Howard G7LQY :)
73s De Howard G7LQY
Image Image Image

User avatar
Howard_G7LQY
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:08 am
Location: Portsmouth, South UK

Re: HELP: SPX-2550 (SL70)

Post by Howard_G7LQY » Wed Jan 23, 2008 2:04 pm

So nobody knows anything about this radio then ???? :(
73s De Howard G7LQY
Image Image Image

k2hz
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Jan 30, 2005 1:02 pm
Location: Rochester, NY

Re: HELP: SPX-2550 (SL70)

Post by k2hz » Thu Jan 24, 2008 6:29 pm

I am familiar with the SP-2550 but I know nothing about the SPX-2550. If it is the same as the SL-70 I know a little about the version made by Maxon but sold by GE in the US as the "Monogram".

The radio does cover 136-174 but only with realignment to operate in about a 7 MHz bandwidth or up to 12 MHz with some degradation. The US versions came factory tuned to the center of either 148-160 or 160-174 and it was necessary to retune if you were not near the center of the band.

Did your radio work before you changed it to the 2M band and what frequency was it on before? I suspect it will need the VCO retuned for any operation and a full TX/RX alignment for good performance unless it was already tuned for the 144-148 range.

Dick K2HZ

KevinBleicester
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 01, 2010 4:41 am

Re: HELP: SPX-2550 (SL70)

Post by KevinBleicester » Tue Jun 01, 2010 3:42 pm

It such a long time but i have the same problem, for sum reason my sl70 spx2550 nh only work with spx2550 m software hope this helps

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest