High Power VHF 5300 136-146 band

Forum dedicated to discussion on EF Johnson Radio products

Moderator: willbartlett

Post Reply
btrains
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 6:00 pm

High Power VHF 5300 136-146 band

Post by btrains » Thu Nov 22, 2012 2:00 pm

How do I get the high power 5300 to do 136-146? I know it has to do something with PCTune, but I don't know what. I'm assuming I need to go under Tools -> Other Tools... but that requires a password, which I don't have.

Does anyone know?

W0VNE
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 1:51 pm

Re: High Power VHF 5300 136-146 band

Post by W0VNE » Sun Apr 23, 2017 9:38 pm

I believe you run tune read all the parameters. (Save them) then select band and instead of VHF High or VHF Low you select VHF. I don't expect it will work perfectly at the band edges but in my one experiment it worked fine.

I don't have the tools password either but it seems like they do a lot of warnings about bricking your radio using those exotic features.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest