Ericsson IPE

Forum dedicated to the Harris PSPC Product group items such as Orion, M7100/M7200/M7300, P7100/P7200/P7300, Harris Unity XG-100, GE Orion, GE Master Repeaters, EDACS Trunking, Pro Voice, PC Configure, RPM, and other topics relating to Harris, MA-Comm, Ericsson, GE products.
Post Reply
VE9MP
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada

Ericsson IPE

Post by VE9MP » Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:09 pm

Just picked up (what I believe) is a Ericsson IPE-200 800MHz EDACS radio. Firstly, Motorola is my bag, I know nothing about Ericsson and even less about EDACS trunking :D

So, the question of the day is.....Can this do conventional channels?
----Nick----

It's more than just a walkie, Mr. Lahey.

Radio_Cowboy
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jul 13, 2003 9:21 pm
Location: New Mexico

Post by Radio_Cowboy » Mon Feb 13, 2006 8:20 pm

It sure can, but first of all....check your options......

press the M key and bring up the menu. arrow down to the Features and see if your radio has option #29 in the list. If it does, you have a provoice capable radio....


Info found and provided by RadioReference.com

http://www.radioreference.com/forums/sh ... d.php?t=72



-RC-
My Daddy was a Pistol.....I'm a son of a gun!

tfliberty
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 1:04 pm

IPE

Post by tfliberty » Tue Feb 14, 2006 1:35 am

I believe the IPE portable is trunking only and not capable of conventional operation. The IPE is based on an Ericsson cell phone platform. The LPE portable is capable of both.

VE9MP
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada

Post by VE9MP » Tue Feb 14, 2006 4:18 pm

It looks like I'm stuck with a useless brick (a pretty one though)...lol


I think Cowboy must have mixed up the IPE with the LPE which is a totally different beast.

Is there anything neat/nerdy that one could do with one of these, besides let it rot in a box?
----Nick----

It's more than just a walkie, Mr. Lahey.

VE9MP
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada

Post by VE9MP » Tue Feb 14, 2006 9:18 pm

Are you guys sure this won't do EDACS?

When I turn it on, it displays a channel/talkgroup name for a second and goes into "CC Scan" which I thaught was indicative of EDACS trunking.

On the back of the radio, underneath the battery it says:

Ericsson Inc.
KRD 103 124/A1 R1A
(serial#)
Canada: TR-352 287195165A
FCC ID: AXATR-352-A2
----Nick----

It's more than just a walkie, Mr. Lahey.

tfliberty
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 1:04 pm

Post by tfliberty » Wed Feb 15, 2006 1:48 am

It will definitely do EDACS trunking, it will not do conventional. You can program it to an EDACS trunked system for full receive and transmit. The one neat feature of it is that if you make an interconnect phone call (if that's enabled on your EDACS system) it reduces the transmit power and audio level and you can hold it to your ear just like a cell phone. Other than that and it's small size, I don't know of any other distinctive features

VE9MP
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: New Brunswick, Canada

Post by VE9MP » Wed Feb 15, 2006 3:05 pm

Great! Now if only the nearest EDACS system wasn't 500+ miles away lol

Atleast its a nice coversation piece or bargaining chip for a trade, i bet it would make a real nice reciever, now if only it did SmartZone :wink:
----Nick----

It's more than just a walkie, Mr. Lahey.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest