tk-760 power & programming question

Forum dedicated to discussion on Kenwood Commercial Radio products

Moderator: willbartlett

moschi

tk-760 power & programming question

Post by moschi »

so i'm pretty new to radios. i've used them quite a bit through fire depts, but i just got one of my own. it's a kenwood tk-760 like the one shown below.

i got it used, so i have no manuals or anything on it. whenever i plug it in, it just consistently beeps, and if i press the power button, it will stop the beeping, but the radio stays on & i can scroll through the channels. is there a way to fix this? & secondly, i saw that the 760g's are programmable from the panel. is this one the same, & if so does anyone know how to program it or where to find directions.

thanks a lot.

Splat

Post by Splat »

It was probably setup for ignition-sensed on/off or via power switch. If you can get the programming s/w for it you can set it up how you want it.

This pertains to the TK-840 but you might have the same problem. This was a reply from Glengling:
"The on/off circuit is a flip/flop that pulses and then operates a pass transistor. These have been know to fail in the on position, that is the pass transistor. If you have a manual go find the pass transistor (on the bottom of the main board near where the Bplus lead enters the board. Check and see if the Base goes high/low with the on/off switch. If it does then you have a bad pass transistor...just replace it. BTW it's a SMT device that is larger than any of the other transistors or diodes."
Starion

Post by Starion »

I'm not sure what you mean by "it just consistently beeps". If you power up the radio, it can be programmed to generate a confirmation beep to indicate power on condition. Just one "beep".

There are times if the data programmed in the radio are NOT acceptable (as in programming out-of-range frequencies that the radio can't handle)