TK-250 (G) programming

Forum dedicated to discussion on Kenwood Commercial Radio products

Moderator: willbartlett

Post Reply
N3CHU
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 11:41 am

TK-250 (G) programming

Post by N3CHU » Tue May 26, 2009 8:28 am

Hi all, Does anyone know if the TK-250 G series can be programed using the buttons or do you have to use software??? Thank you for your help. Davie n-3-c-h-u at atlanticbb dot net

DocHolliday
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2008 9:37 am

Re: TK-250 (G) programming

Post by DocHolliday » Wed May 27, 2009 9:32 pm

The biggest majority of the kenwood radios will program from the radio without software but this is a option that only the Kenwood techs know and don't reveal and is kepted turned off in the radio. However I have a friend that will be soon starting work for them in a few weeks then I will have the ancient chinese secret...LOL
This method allows everything to be programmed into a radio EXCEPT for the alpha numeric labeling which the software is needed to do that for some reason. This info I just stated came from a tech at the main Kenwood Office tech Dept..

N3CHU
Posts: 160
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 11:41 am

Re: TK-250 (G) programming

Post by N3CHU » Thu May 28, 2009 8:15 am

AAAsooo! thank you for your good info. If I am unable to find a programming interface I will try it. thanks. Davie

KI4LTX
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 12:14 pm

Re: TK-250 (G) programming

Post by KI4LTX » Fri May 29, 2009 1:24 pm

Two things must be in place before one can program the recent Kenwood portables from the front panel:

A resistor nomally needs to be removed, and "Self Programming" must be enabled by the programming software. After that, many of the current models can be programmed from the front panel. So you need access to the Programming Software at least in the beginning.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests