Replacement for FTH-2070

Forum dedicated to discussion on Vertex Commercial Radio products
Post Reply
Jim1348
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:06 pm

Replacement for FTH-2070

Post by Jim1348 » Wed Aug 18, 2004 12:47 am

I have heard rumors of a Vertex replacement for the FTH-2070. Can anyone provide any details or are these just rumors?

User avatar
Wes
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2002 8:00 pm
Location: Mount Airy & Winston-Salem/Forsyth County, NC

Post by Wes » Tue Sep 07, 2004 6:10 am

To add to that rumor......

I heard it was gonna be based after the VX900 and built on that same chassis, with all the same features as the 900......

512 channels for VHF and UHF wouldnt be bad.......

Wes
Wes Hutchens
wch36@yahoo.com
911 Telecommunicator / 2-Way Tech.
Mount Airy & Winston-Salem/Forsyth County, NC
http://www.ra-techservices.com

radio259
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:11 pm
Location: Pittsburgh Pa

Post by radio259 » Tue Sep 07, 2004 3:11 pm

:beer: At the last dealer meeting in our area, they said no. there is not that big of a market for a dual band.

Last week, now that has changed. they are again discussing something on the VX900 series chasis.

BTW, they still have about 100 2070's left!!


Paul B

Jim1348
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:06 pm

2070

Post by Jim1348 » Tue Sep 07, 2004 7:06 pm

Paul, I may be interested in one. Do you have a URL or telephone number for the company with these for sale?

Jim

radio259
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2004 7:11 pm
Location: Pittsburgh Pa

Post by radio259 » Tue Sep 14, 2004 1:00 pm

:beer: If you can, find your local vertex dealer. I cannot sell "out of territory". Unless, you solicit me to do so. So the Vertex head honchoes say.

I am not sure of the price break, if any to get them out of stock. I can inquire if you are interested.

Sorry I took so long getting back to you. Skipped town for 9 days of R & R. Or at least it was supposed to be.


Paul B

Jim1348
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:06 pm

Vertex

Post by Jim1348 » Tue Sep 14, 2004 9:19 pm

Yes, if you can check on that, I would be interested.

Craig
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 10:13 pm

DEMAND

Post by Craig » Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:09 pm

Not that big of demand! This seems to be the wish of almost every radio guy I talk to. Every radio manufacturer wants to advertise interoperbility, but nobody wants to market a truly interoperable portable. The FTH2070 is old and lacks many needed features such as digital signalling and DCS. Sorry for the rant. :D

Jim1348
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:06 pm

Post by Jim1348 » Sat Sep 10, 2005 5:29 pm

Has anyone heard anything new about the possibility of a dual-band commercial transceiver?

Carl_R
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:00 pm
Location: Nevada

Vertex Dual Band

Post by Carl_R » Sun Sep 11, 2005 1:05 pm

Vertex now has "Dual Band" of sorts. With an optional board The VX-920 portable and the VX-4000/VX-4100 now have dual band rec. capability.

You can only transmit on one band but can recieve on both.

For example, If you order a VHF unit, you can only transmit on VHF but can recieve on both UHF and VHF. Boards retail for $160.

Not the best solution but better than anything available right now otherwise..

Carl


http://www.carolina-radio.com

Jim1348
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:06 pm

Post by Jim1348 » Sun Sep 11, 2005 6:46 pm

Interesting, it is almost like Yaesu/Vertex/Standard is teasing us by offerring receive only on the sub-band. The flip side is maybe this is a step in the right direction and they will have a dual-band out in a few years.

Splat
Posts: 139
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 3:16 pm

Post by Splat » Thu Sep 15, 2005 4:50 pm

They ever get DPL in the 2070? IIRC all the 2070's I've seen never had DPL built in. Thanks.

Jim1348
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 1:06 pm

Post by Jim1348 » Thu Sep 15, 2005 11:05 pm

No, I don't think it every did get changed to add DPL. Analog only.

redbird
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 9:34 am

Post by redbird » Fri Sep 16, 2005 8:32 am

They offered a DPL board that could be added. I added a couple, never got a report back on how well they worked.

crazyboy
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 4:00 pm

Post by crazyboy » Fri Sep 16, 2005 6:11 pm

I hope they do make a new dualband portable. I would definetly get one.

Cowthief
No Longer Registered
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2003 3:27 pm

Dual band.

Post by Cowthief » Fri Feb 10, 2006 6:59 pm

Hello.

Much as I hate to say it but,.
Almost everyone I have seen who has a need for a dual band talkie has the ham band rig that has been converted.
The Yaesu ham rig works fairly well if you do a complete conversion, that means retuning.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests